Knockout Nation


KNOCKOUT NATION NEWS AND NOTES – JANUARY 25, 2009 by cbrownko
January 25, 2009, 2:06 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

(KNOCKOUT NATION – JANUARY 25, 2009)

– Manny Paquiao and Ricky Hatton have come to an agreement to face each on a May 2nd PPV in a Jr. Welterweight showdown. The fight will be fought for Hatton’s Ring Jr. Welterweight title. Previously, the bout was called off as the two sides could not agree on a 50-50 split. After much negotiations, and meeting between the two camps and the respective promoters, the fighters agreed to a 52-48 purse split. Paquiao will take the lion’s share of the money and looks to make upwards to 12 million dollars for the fight

– Light Heavyweight sensation, Glen Johns will be facing Daniel Judah in a rematch of their 2003 draw. The fight will take place on February 27th, on ESPN’s Friday Night fights at the Hard Rock Live in Hollywood, Florida. Regarding the fight, Johnson stated, “This is one of the fights I’ve been waiting to get back, and now the time is here. I know I won the first fight with Judah, and I will take care of the injustice of that draw on February 27th.” Judah also spoke n the fight stating, I’m grateful for the opportunity to fight a great fighter like Glen a second time, but this time, I’m bringing my own judges,” said Judah. “I beat him once and I’ll do it again, this time by knockout”

– Roy Jones, Jr. appears to be heading back to the ring after his disappointing loss against Joe Calzaghe last year. Jones will be facing Omar Sheika on March 21 on an independent PPV taking place at the Civic Center in Pensacola, Florida. Sheika has been several times on ESPN Friday Night Fights and has notable losses to Joe Calzaghe and Jeff Lacy. It has not been announced that this is Jones’ final fight, but Jones has stated that he wanted to give his hometown crowd a fight and opportunity to see him.

– Speaking at a press conference to promote last night’s Affliction MMA PPV, Oscar De La Hoya spoke on his retirement. Speaking to the NY Daily Times, Oscar stated, ““I haven’t thought seriously about it. I really haven’t sat down and soaked it all in and thought about it. People have come up to me and told me that it wasn’t me in the ring and that I shouldn’t quit. And then other people have come up to me and said they think I should hang ’em up. It’s pulling me back and forth. Obviously I have to feel it and I have to want it. It’s not easy. It’s tough at this age and stage of my career to continue. I know I still have the skills. It’s not going to be about the opponent or the money.”

– Joe Calzaghe has hinted that he may have one final fight left in him. Speaking to the Daily Star, Calzaghe addressed his intentions stating, “It has got to be the right fight for me. It would be an awesome occasion though fighting at The Millennium Stadium, and I know I would love it. It’s a tough one, because I’m 37 in March, so I’m not exactly a spring chicken, but yes, of course I dream about boxing in front of 60,000 at The Millennium Stadium. Joe went on to say, “I don’t want to be one of those fighters who says he is going to retire and then six months down the line they come back and they do that again and again. When I say I am going I want to be gone for good. I want it to be final. For the record, Bernard Hopkins has stated that he would be willing to travel anywhere to have a rematch with Joe Calzaghe. If not Bernard, who else is out there for Joe to face?

BROWN

Brownkn1@gmail.com


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment